fbpx

Penalties for a Texas DWI

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) by alcohol or drugs is a criminal charge. A person who is convicted of this charge may face stiff penalties. Because an aggressive defense is often the best protection against a conviction and the penalties that come with it, it is wise to contact an experienced Austin criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.

Penalties for a DWI conviction in Texas depend on certain factors, like whether someone was injured, if there was a child in the car, and whether the conviction is the driver’s first, second, or third conviction. Common penalties for these convictions include:

  • DWI First Offense: Three to 180 days in jail, up to $2,000 in fines, probation, and/or a drivers’ license suspension lasting from 90 days to one year.
  • DWI Second Offense: 30 days to one year in jail, up to $4,000 in fines, probation, and/or a drivers’ license suspension lasting from 180 days to two years.
  • DWI Third Offense: Two to 10 years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and/or a drivers’ license suspension from 180 days to two years.
  • DWI with Child Passenger: Six months to two years in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, probation, and/or a drivers license suspension from 180 days to two years.

In addition, you may face a surcharge of $1,000 to $2,000 per year for three years to keep your driver’s license and other penalties related to your driving privileges.

At Peek & Toland, L.L.P., our experienced Austin DWI defense attorneys will fight for the best possible outcome in your case while also striving to protect your legal rights. Contact us today to learn more.

Related Articles:

Posted in DWI

How Can We Help You?

Our team is standing by to help. Call us at (512) 474-4445 or complete this form to send a message about your legal situation.